Gluten Free Chocolate, Pistachio and Orange Cake

Happy Valentine’s day and a belated happy New Year.

Where on earth have the last few months gone?!

I find it hard to believe that my previous post was last year! Let me reassure you that I have been busy in my kitchen trying lots of new recipes and playing around with old favourites. I unfortunately have not been so busy with my blog. I am hoping to make up for the lack of posts by now giving you some deliciously scrummy recipes to try.

This cake is perfect for Valentine’s day (who doesn’t eat chocolate today??!!) Like most of my recipes it has some simple ingredients and is very quick and easy to make. I do love the combination of citrus fruit, nuts and chocolate. The fact that oranges are in abundance at the moment makes it the perfect time to bake this beautiful cake. This chocolate cake tastes scrumptious.

I recently had a catch up morning tea with some of my amazing friends,   and this was one of the cakes we enjoyed in between lots of chatter, lots of laughter and lots of cups of tea.

20170118_144225

INGREDIENTS

6 free range eggs

2 oranges

250g caster sugar

100g almond meal

150g finely ground pistachios (+ a few crushed pistachios to serve)

60g cacao + a little extra to dust to serve

1 teaspoon gf baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

METHOD

1  Preheat oven to 180C degrees  (350F).

2  Prepare an  8″ (20cm) round cake tin by spraying with oil and lining base and sides with baking paper.

3  Prick the 2 oranges with a fork.

4  Place the 2 oranges in a microwave bowl and cover. Cook on high for 9 mins.

5  Allow oranges to cool for 20 mins and then place in a food processor.

6  Add the remaining ingredients to the food processor and pulse lighty until just combined. ( I like to have some chunky bits of orange in my cake).

7  Pour the cake batter into the prepared cake tin.

8  Bake for 1 hour. Check after 45 mins that the cake is not becoming too brown on top. You can place some foil over the top and continue baking.

9  Remove the cake from the oven and allow to cool in the tin.

10 Dust cake with cacao and sprinkle crushed pistachios on top.

Serve with a big dollop of double cream.

Yummy 😀😀

PS I added shaved 70% dark orange choclate on top of the cake ………….yummmo

Leave a Reply

