Deb’s Bread and Butter Pudding

 

 

I was supposed to pop this recipe up on to my blog over a month ago, but as per usual I got ‘sidetracked’ and, when  I say that I mean I have been and still am on holiday!  I am currently editing this post in a cozy log cabin in Yosemite – the perfect place to be thinking about satisfying comfort food.

This is the pudding I get asked to make most frequently … a long time favourite with family and friends. It is such a simple recipe which requires very few ingredients and yet is amazingly delicious.

Unfortunately for my celiac and gluten intolerant friends you’ll have to wait until another post for a recipe which will suit you better

Blog July16 016

 

It is an incredibly cheap and easy dessert to make and over the years I think that I have just about ‘perfected’ this sweet and satisfying pudding.

The only problem I have is that every time I make it, the pudding is eaten before I get a chance to take a photo!

Ingredients

1 loaf of white toast sliced plain bread, crust removed

60 g softened butter

3/4 cup caster sugar

600ml cream

150 ml milk

4 eggs, lightly beaten

3/4 cup of sultanas

1/4 cup Cointreau

1 tsp vanilla essence

2 tsp of cinnamon

Method

  1. Spray casserole dish with oil.
  2. Marinade sultanas in cointreau.
  3. Butter one side of each slice of bread. (crusts removed)
  4. Beat cream, milk, eggs, 1/2 cup caster sugar and vanilla essence together.
  5. Place one layer of buttered slices of bread in casserole dish.  Buttered side up.
  6. Sprinkle sugar, cinnamon and sultanas on bread layer.
  7. Repeat breaď and sugar layers until ingredients finished.
  8. Pour cream mixture over bread, push down the bread whilst pouring cream mixture on.
  9. Sprinkle top layer with cinnamon.
  10. Allow to stand for 30 mins.
  11. Turn fan forced oven to 150 C degrees.
  12. Cook pudding in the oven for 40 mins until risen and golden on top.
  13. Serve with custard or/and cream.

Yum, yum – enjoy ☺

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

