Leek and Potato Soup

Blog May16 leek soup, berry crumble, omelette 067

It’s a blustery and truly wintery day here in Perth. I woke up this morning and looked to see the dark and stormy clouds outside and decided that it was going to be a lazy day. I had it in my mind that I would make myself a hot chocolate, flick the television on and watch the next episode in the Vikings series (I’ve become hooked!).

 

Ahhh, but it wasn’t to be  ………… I hit the kitchen with a vengeance. The wintery weather had inspired me to make soup. I fancied a bowl of warm, comforting whole food soup. I had just bought some leeks which I had been intending using to make risotto with, but that will now have to wait. There is something quite therapeutic about cooking soup as you can chop up all sorts of deliciously healthy vegetables, throw them in a pot, and next thing you know you are enjoying a big warm bowl of yumminess! Food for the soul 🙂

 

Whilst making the soup, I also decided to make a “throw everything in” omelette for brunch,  and then a berry crumble for dessert tonight – so you can see I was busy! It is the perfect time of year to be cooking in the kitchen and all those delicious smells filling up your home.

Anyway, I hope you are rugged up and keeping warm this evening. I am feeling very snug and comfy and looking forward to a laid back evening watching the footy, eating my hot soup and enjoying a glass of red.

 

Happy cooking 🙂

Ingredients

3 large leeks, sliced

3 rashers of rindless bacon, chopped into small pieces

2 garlic cloves, chopped

5 small chat potatoes, chopped into pieces

Large knob of butter

2 tablespoons olive oil

Black pepper

1 litre vegetable or chicken stock

 

Method

  1. Heat oil and butter in large saucepan
  2. Add sliced leeks, bacon, garlic and potatoes to saucepan.
  3. Cook for 8 mins until bacon cooked and leeks soften and golden.
  4. Add chicken stock and season with black pepper.
  5. Bring to boil and simmer for 30 mins until vegetables are cooked and soft.
  6. Remove from heat and cool for 10 mins.
  7. Use hand blender to blend soup to smooth.
  8. Add a dollop of cream or some freshly shaved parmesan and serve with crusty bread.

Happy Cooking 🙂

 

One thought on “Leek and Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

