Wine Poached Pears

 

 

 

IMG_4266
My new chopping board – a Mother’s Day pressie from my beautiful girls. Love it!!

 

I am having a bit of a love affair with poached pears at the moment.

I have to confess that it has taken me almost 30 years to get over a disastrous attempt at poaching pears. I was young and very inexperienced in the kitchen when I tried to impress my ‘to be in laws’ – I failed miserably!  I now regret that it has taken me so long to attempt cooking this delightful fruit but the memory of very hard red wine poached pears rolling off the plates and on to  my ‘to be in laws’  lovely white linen table cloth leaving a trail of red wine behind has stayed with me for years! Needless to say I was accepted into the family but not for my cooking skills! These days I am older and hopefully a little wiser so I am able to laugh about that little cooking experiment.

Poached Pears 002
I find this beautiful dish has so much going fo it – it’s simple but often stunning on the plate and the delicate flavours of the spices and wine infused in the pear is devine. There is also the added bonus of the most amazing rich and aromatic aromas that fill the house. This is the perfect time of year to cook them as they are plentiful and cheap. So what’s not to love about poached pears!


I have poached them in white wine and red wine and I really find it hard to choose a my favourite. Why not try both recipes and see which is your favourite.
I have served the red wine pears with my Granny’s home made ice cream ( recipe in next post).

 

Red Wine Poached Pears Recipe

 

Ingredients

6 pears, peeled and kept whole with stalk intact

1 bottle of red wine

2 star anise

2 cinnamon sticks

1 vanilla bean, split, seeds scraped

225 g caster sugar

Method

  1. Place red wine, star anise, cinnamon, vanilla and sugar  in a saucepan.
  2. Add peeled, whole pears to the saucepan. If the pears are not covered in liquid, add enough water to cover.
  3. Poach the pears for appox 20-30 mins. The cooking time will depend on the ripeness of the pears. Test to check they are tender all the way through.
  4. Leave to cool.
  5. Place the pears and liquid in a sealed container in the fridge (I normally poach the pears 2 days before required and this allows the flavours to really infuse into the pears)

When ready to use the pears –

  1. Remove pears from the red wine liquid and set aside until ready to use.
  2. Return red wine liquid to a saucepan and heat to boiling, then simmer until the liquid is reduced to half and syrupy.
  3. Serve pears with the cooled syrup.

 

White Wine Poached Pears

 

Ingredients

6 pears, peeled and kept whole with stalk intact

1 bottle of white wine

1 star anise

2 cardamom pods, crushed

Rind from 1 lemon

Thumb size piece of fresh ginger –  finely sliced

225 g caster sugar

Method

Method

  1. Place white wine, star anise, cardamom pods, lemon rind, ginger and sugar  in a saucepan.
  2. Add peeled, whole pears to the saucepan. If the pears are not covered in liquid, add enough water to cover.
  3. Poach the pears for appox 20-30 mins. The cooking time will depend on the ripeness of the pears. Test to check they are tender all the way through.
  4. Leave to cool.
  5. Place the pears and liquid in a sealed container in the fridge (I normally poach the pears 2 days before required and this allows the flavours to really infuse into the pears)

When ready to use the pears –

  1. Remove pears from the white wine liquid and set aside until ready to use.
  2. Return white wine liquid to a saucepan and heat to boiling, then simmer until the liquid is reduced to half and syrupy.
  3. Serve pears with the cooled syrup.

Happy Cooking – enjoy 🙂

 

PS A very big thank you to Jeremy for helping me set up my blog page – I hope it is a little bit easier to use.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wine Poached Pears

Leave a Reply

