Friday Friend – Beautiful Bev’s Banana Loaf

FullSizeRender-13

This week’s Friday Friend is my sister Bev.  Her recipe is a delicious banana loaf that is easy to make. I have added some dates and coconut for a little twist, but these are easily left out of the recipe.

20160303_112138_resized

 

It is a funny thing with family that we often take them for granted or forget to praise them for their many good qualities. I am certainly guilty of this. I have exchanged  many recipes over the years with my sister as she is an excellent cook. For as long as I can remember  she has been able to turn out a delicious cake or recreate my nana’s old fashioned rainbow biscuits to name just a few things. She has always made sure that her boys have wholesome  home cooked healthy meals and treats. I don’t think my sister gives herself enough credit for her many talents and how amazing a mother she is. So this post is to share with you one of my sister’s  many  mouth watering  recipes.

Ingredients

2 cups plain flour

2 teaspoons  baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1/3 cup oil (I used  rice bran oil)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 bananas, mashed

(Optional – add 1/2 cup chopped medjool dates, and 1/4 cup coconut flakes to the dry ingredients)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 C
  2. Line base of loaf tin with baking paper ( I just spray with oil)
  3. Sift flour, baking powder and cinnamon into a large bowl.
  4. Stir in the sugars.
  5. In a separate bowl, combine the eggs, oil and vanilla.
  6. Add egg mixture to the dry ingredients.
  7. Add mashed banana and fold into mixture until just combined – do not overmix.
  8. Place mixture into prepared loaf tin and place in preheated 180C oven for 50 mins or until a skewer comes out clean.

 

Leave a Reply

