Friday Friend – Amazing Alice’s Scones

scones1

 

My friend Alice is truly amazing – she is one of those people who inspires me. She is a multi-talented, creative lady who can turn her hand to almost anything – she quilts beautifully, she sews, she can fix and mend almost anything (reticulation and vacuum cleaners to name just a few!) and she is a great cook.

Alice’s home always reminds me of a country home; welcoming, open and relaxed. Whenever I ‘pop in’ to visit her the table will be set with fresh flowers, pretty napkins and some yummy freshly baked delight. I feel blessed to have a friend like Alice in my life.

Today I am going to share Alice’s Scone recipe which is one of my favourite baked delights that I enjoy at her place.

These scones are easy to make, a never fail recipe which is guaranteed to taste delicious.

20160127_173527

Scone Recipe

1 egg

4 tablespoons of oil (vegetable, or I use Rice Bran oil)

2 cups of milk (or I use 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup thickened cream or sour cream)

4 cups of Self Raising flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon sugar

Method

  1. Beat the egg, oil and milk until combined.
  2. Sift the SR flour, sugar and salt into a bowl.
  3. Add the egg mixture to the flour.
  4. Knead until just combined and then turn on to a floured surface.
  5. Pat into a flat shape of the thickness you would like your scones to be (3/4 inch).
  6. Cut with a floured scone cutter and then place on a greased tray. (I brush the tops of the scones with a bit of milk)
  7. Preheat oven to 220C degrees.
  8. Cook in oven for 12 – 15 mins.
  9. Serve warm & fresh with whipped cream and jam – yum, yum.

Happy cooking 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Friend – Amazing Alice’s Scones

Leave a Reply

